HyperX HX321LS11IB2K2/8 Review

HX321LS11IB2K2-8_09

We now switch our attention to the HX321LS11IBK2/8 model using the same test setup and test methodology as on the previous page.

Motherboard ASRock Z97-M8 (BIOS version P1.10)
CPU Intel Core i7-4770K (running at 4GHz)
Graphics card ASUS HD4350
Memory Kingston HyperX Impact HX321LS11IB2K2/8
SSD Kingston SSDNow V300 60GB
Power supply Seasonic Platinum 1200W
Operating System Windows 7 x64 Service Pack 1

Hynix's H5TC4G83BFR memory chips exhibit similar overclocking behavior to H5TC4G83MFR that we tested on the previous page, with the main difference being necessity for looser tRCD and tRP.

The frequency and voltage scaling curve for each of tested CAS latencies can be observed on the diagram below:

HX321LS11IB2K2-8_results

And the lowest stable settings for the rest of primary timings can be seen on the following set of tables:

800MHz
(DDR3-1600)
900MHz
(DDR3-1800)
933MHz
(DDR3-1866)
1000MHz
(DDR3-2000)
CL7
7-8-9-20 @ 1.43V
7-9-9-20 @ 1.63V
7-9-10-20 @ 1.72V
not possible
CL8
8-9-9-20 @ 1.29V
8-9-10-20 @ 1.42V
8-10-10-20 @ 1.47V
8-10-10-20 @ 1.59V
CL9
9-9-9-20 @ 1.22V
9-10-10-20 @ 1.30V
9-10-10-20 @ 1.33V
9-11-11-20 @ 1.39V
CL10
not relevant
10-10-10-20 @ 1.23V
10-10-10-20 @ 1.26V
10-11-11-20 @ 1.30V
CL11
not relevant
not relevant
not relevant
11-11-11-20 @ 1.23V

1066MHz (DDR3-2133)
1100MHz (DDR3-2200)
1200MHz (DDR3-2400)
CL9
9-11-11-20 @ 1.51V
9-12-12-20 @ 1.55V
not possible
CL10
10-11-12-20 @ 1.37V
10-12-12-20 @ 1.40V
10-12-12-20 @ 1.53V
CL11
11-12-12-20 @ 1.28V
11-12-12-20 @ 1.31V
11-13-13-20 @ 1.39V
CL12
not relevant
12-12-12-20 @ 1.26V
12-13-13-20 @ 1.36V

As usual, we begin the discussion by evaluating the headroom above spec. In case with the HX321LS11IB2K2/8 we were able to lower the DDR3-2133 CL11 voltage from rated 1.35V to 1.28V although the timings could drop from 11-12-13 only to 11-12-12.

Still, we were able to get the kit to run 1100MHz at CL9 and 1200MHz at CL10, both with way less than 1.65V. This shows that the overclocking potential is clearly there and the modules are able to offer much nicer numbers than the specs suggest.

Similar to previous kit, the H5TC4G83BFR-based version also struggled with stability above 1200MHz (DDR3-2400).

Leave a comment

 

  1. Am I right in presuming the previous mode HX321LS11IBK2/8 had higher performance than the HX321LS11IB2K2/8 model? I was considering getting these chips, however I might as well go with say G.Skill because they achieve tighter timings at the same voltage as the older model here does, though no longer available.

    1. Yes, the older model with better timings is faster. Which one from G.Skill are you talking about? The F3-2133C11D-8GRSL?

      1. Yes that was. I am actually wanting to get a 16GB kit which is this one F3-2133C11D-16GRSL or this one HX321LS11IB2K2/16. I’ve read that however that even the older PnP CL12 out performs current G.Skill and vengeance memory from this forum.

        In the forum, the G.Skill was an 8GB dual channel kit, as opposed to the 8GB kit PnP CL12.

        Are you aware of any comparing reviews of F3-2133C11D-16GRSL vs HX321LS11IB2K2/16 and/or HX321LS11IBK2/16?

        For some reason the older and no longer made impact model goes for twice as much as the newer Kingston model. I want to say the Hynix dies are superior to the Samsung dies for 2133, but I am not sure.

        1. No idea to be honest. Maybe it has to do with secondary and tertiary timings. I can ask the F3-2133C11D-16GRSL and HX321LS11IB2K2/16 for review (and performance testing) but unfortunately I wont be able to get a sample of the HX321LS11IBK2/16 (EOL).

          1. That would be a nice review. I haven’t seen any comparative of the two. Do you perhaps have the 2x4GB kit of the G.Skill Ripjaws (F3-2133C11D-8GRSL)? That versus the HX321LS11IB2K2/8 would determine who is superior at a 16GB kit.

  2. Cpuz-z ignores Fine_tCK correction. For this reason the timing table of each from the modules is absolutely wrong!

    1. I got two HX321LS11IBK2/8 Kits and use them for my P570WM. Unfortunately the use is restricted to 1867Mhz CL10. Everytime I change the settings it reverts back to 1867Mhz CL10.
      I know that Ivy-E’s memory types is restricted to 1867Mhz. On the other Hand there are many P570WM owners who run their Kingston’s at 2133 and even 2400Mhz.

      My question is from what it is dependent to get a stable 24/7 on stock and overclocked?

      Clevo P570WM // GTX 970m SLI // i7 4960X // 16GB (4×4)RAM (HX321LS11IB2K2/8) // Intel 330 180GB SSD + 2 x SanDisk Ultra II 480GB SSD (RAID 0) // 120Hz Matte Screen // 2 x 330w PSU // Win 10 Pro